Comments are off for this post


File photo: Women footballers in action


15th March, 2017; Georgetown: The Rupununi Football Association is embracing gender equality in its football competitions through double-header match days for its 2017 Champions League that give equal prominence to men’s and women’s football.

The League, which began earlier this month, is split into sub-regions across the Rupununi with 15 out of 16 clubs fielding both men’s and women’s teams as standard for matches in Region Nine.  The sub-regions fielding teams are: Central Rupununi – five; East Central Rupununi – four; North Rupununi – three; and Deep South Rupununi, South Central Rupununi, and South Pakariamas each fielding one team. History has also been created with a team from Mahdia in Region Eight competing for the first time.

“Our aim is to capture the entire Rupununi,” said RFA President Ken Grant. “We want the whole of the Rupununi to play organised and structured football for both men and women.”

On Saturday 11th March, at Snatchers ground in the Central Rupununi division Gladiators women’s team beat Snatchers 2-1 and Gladiators men’s team overcame Snatchers 4-2.

Last weekend, Paiwomak and St. Ignatius women’s side were also competing in the finals of the National Women’s Development League in Georgetown. The teams finished second and third respectively in the inaugural season of the league, underlining the strength and future potential of women’s football in the Rupununi.

St. Ignatius take on Tabatinga on 18th March. The East Central Division get up and running on the 19th March, with Flash F.C. taking on Kanuku Harpies and Kanuku Warriors coming up against United Warriors in Nappi.

Below is a list of the 15 teams competing for the title, including newcomers Mahdia Gold Getters from Region Eight.

Titans United FC – Deep South Rupununi

Shiriri FC – South Central Rupununi

St Ignatius Sports Club – Central Rupununi

Tabatinga FC – Central Rupununi

Gladiators FC – Central Rupununi

Snatchers FC – Central Rupununi

Kanuku Rockers FC – Central Rupununi

Flash FC – East Central Rupununi

Kanuku Warriors FC – East Central Rupununi

Kanuku Harpies FC – East Central Rupununi

United Warriors FC – East Central Rupununi

Paiwomak Warriors FC – North Rupununi

Surama FC – North Rupununi

FC Strikers – North Rupununi

Sun Parakeets FC – South Pakaraimas

Mahdia Gold Getters FC – Region 8


For more information, please contact:

Debra Francis (Ms.)

Communications and Public Relations Officer

Tel: 592 227 8758 ext. 105 (o)

Comments are closed.