Comments are off for this post

Jeffrey Webb re-elected as CONCACAF president

Jeffrey Webb was thankful after being re-elected as CONCACAF president for a second term Thursday.

Webb took over as president in 2012 and will continue in that role, after he was re-elected unopposed at the governing body’s 30th Ordinary Congress.

The 50-year-old from the Cayman Islands was delighted to be given the opportunity to continue as president.

“CONCACAF is — more than ever—united by one vision,” Webb said in a news release. “We represent our region on the global stage with one strong and cohesive voice. The invisible barriers that have hampered the region’s progress for decades are diminishing, and we are seeing unprecedented levels of success both on and off the pitch.”

Many representitives at the congress spoke in favor of maintaing Sepp Blatter as the FIFA President, while Blatter himself congratulated Webb on his re-election.

“What makes the strength of this confederation is solidarity and unity,” Blatter said, according to a CONCACAF news release. “For this remarkable leadership, congratulations to Jeffrey Webb and compliments to CONCACAF Executive Committee and Member Associations.”

In addition to Webb’s election, Jamaica’s Horace Burrell was re-elected as Vice-President of CONCACAF, Caribbean Zone and Mexico’s Justino Compean was re-elected as Vice-President of CONCACAF, North American Zone.

Panama FA president Pedro Chaluja was elected as CONCACAF Executive Committee Member, Central American Zone, while Sonia Bien-Aime, of the Turks and Caicos, will become the first to fill the position of Female Member on the CONCACAF Executive Committee.

Eduardo Li of Costa Rica was elected as FIFA Executive Committee Member representing the CONCACAF Central American Zone in what was set the be the only contested seat before Rafael Salguero of Guatemala pulled out of the race.


Comments are closed.