Comments are off for this post



16th March, 2016; Georgetown: Head Coach of the Men’s National Team (Golden Jaguars), Jamaal Shabazz, has named a twenty-five (25)-man squad to face off Anguilla in the Caribbean Football Union’s Caribbean Men’s Cup scheduled for 19:00hrs on Tuesday, 22nd March, 2016 at the Guyana National Stadium.

The team consists of eight over-seas based players including Akel Clarke (Trinidad and Tobago); Neil Danns (England); Samuel Cox (England), Walter Moore (Finland); Brandon Beresford (U.S.A); Christopher Nurse (Puerto Rico), Marcel Barrington (England) and Anthony Whyte (Canada). (See below a complete breakdown of the squad)

The Golden Jaguars is scheduled to be encamped from this Friday, 18th – 23rd March, 2016. The Anguillans are expected to arrive on Sunday, 20th March, 2016.

A venue appearance of the Golden Jaguars is scheduled for Sunday, 20th March, 2016 at the Giftland Mall, Turkeyen at 15:00hrs.

A pre-game press conference is scheduled for Monday, 21st March. More details will be communicated to you soonest.

Guyana has been placed in Group five (5) along with Anguilla and Puerto Rico.  The competition consists of seven (7) groups.

Guyana’s second game will be played against Puerto Rico in Puerto Rico on March 29, 2016. Anguilla will play Puerto Rico on March 26 at the Raymond E, Guishard Technical Centre, Anguilla.

Round 1 will be played from March 21-29; Round 2 May 15-21; Round 3 October 3-11; Fifth Place Playoff November 7-15; and the finals are scheduled for May 2017.

Among the other teams participating in the tournament are Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, St. Kitts & Nevis, Grenada, St. Maarten, United States Virgin Islands, Cuba, Bermuda, French Guiana, Barbados, Curacao, Guadeloupe, St. Martin, Suriname, Martinique, British Virgin Islands and Dominica.  Games will be played in twenty-one countries.

Last Monday, 14th March, 2016, the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) launched a youth ticket initiative which will enable young people below the age of seventeen (17) years old to access any football event at five hundred dollars ($500.00) or half the price if the entrance cost exceeds one thousand dollars ($1000). Additionally, any child twelve (12) years and younger will be admitted free of cost. These initiatives will take effect immediately as a lead-up to the Caribbean Men’s Cup Tournament against Anguilla scheduled for the 22nd of March, 2016 at the Guyana National Stadium. Companies are encouraged to purchase the youth ticket and present same to schools.

The simple launching ceremony was held at the Sophia Special School at 11:00hrs and featured Head Teacher of the Sophia Special School, Ms. Debra Bilalatu; Mr. Nicolas Fraser, Head – Physical Education Department, Ministry of Education and Mr. Wayne Forde, President of the Guyana Football Federation (GFF).

For game day, regular tickets are being sold at $1,500, VIP tickets at $5,000 and booths are being sold at $80,000. Booth cost include the ability to have a maximum of twenty (20) persons, six (6) car passes and food and drinks being brought to the ground.

Tickets are available at the following locations:

  • the GFF’s office
  • Andrew’s Supermarket, South Ruimveldt
  • Survival Supermarket, Sheriff Street
  • Giftland Mall, Turkeyen
  • Nigel’s Supermarket, Robb and Albert Streets (VIP and regular)
  • 704 Sports Bar, Lamaha and Albert Streets (VIP and regular)
  • Little Rock Suites – New Amsterdam, Berbice

Patrons are invited to wear yellow to represent the Golden Jaguars!


1. Alex Murray – Alpha United FC
2. King Soloman Austin – Alpha United FC
3. Joshua Browne – Alpha United FC
4. Kester Jacobs – Slingerz FC
5. Eon Alleyne – Fruta Conquerors FC
6. Vurlon Mills – Slingerz FC
7. Gregory Richardson – Pele FC
8. Devon Millington – Slingerz FC
9. Daniel Wilson – Alpha United FC
10. Dwight Peters – Alpha United FC
11. Quincy Adams – Slingerz FC
12. Clive Nobrega – Slingerz FC
13. Les Charles Critchlow – Slingerz FC
14. Tichard Joseph – Slingerz FC
15. Trayon Bobb – Slingerz FC
16. Konata Mannings – Pele FC
17. Dellon Lanferman – Alpha United FC
18. Walter Moore – FF Jaro FC (Finland)
19. Samuel Cox – Boreham Wood FC (England)
20. Christopher Nurse – Puerto Rico FC (Puerto Rico)
21. Neil Danns – Bolton Wanderers FC (England)
22. Brandon Beresford – Seattle Sounders 2 team (U.S.A)
23. Akel Clarke – Central Couva FC (Trinidad & Tobago)
24. Marcel Barrington – Tooting & Mitcham United FC (England)
25. Anthony Whyte – Sigma FC (Canada)

Comments are closed.