Comments are off for this post


Captain of the GDF FC receives the winning trophy from Patron of Women’s football in Guyana, Hon. Minister of Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs, Valerie Lowe in the presence of her team mates and GFF’s president, Wayne Forde

The inaugural edition of the National Women’s Development League drew to an exciting close on Sunday, 12th March at the GDF ground in Georgetown.
The Guyana Defence Force became the first team to win the league title, with a nail-biting 2-1 win in the final over Paiwomak Warriors from Annai Central in the Rupununi. Goals from Kendra Thomas (7 minutes) and star player Abeocie Heywood (26 minutes) were just enough for the team to overcome a spirited late fightback from Paiwomak after Jacklyn Williams (56 minutes) scored for the Rupununi team.

Rupununi-based St. Ignatius beat 3-1 Georgetown’s Fruta Conquerors in the third-place play off. Amanda Cabral scored twice for Saints (21 & 46 minutes), with Sonia Griffith grabbing their third (60 minutes). Conquerors’ Natalie Nedd found the net in the 29th minute.

Congratulations to all the players, coaches, referees and clubs who have participated in the league. We look forward to working with you all in the future to build on this new foundation for the national development of women’s football.


Comments are closed.